What We Do

The Department of Community Planning and Economic Development (CPED) is comprised of two major divisions of three bureaus each, which work together to build strong neighborhoods and elevate quality of life for all people who live, work, and play in the City of Lancaster. The Department manages a range of programs that aim to support business and job creation, facilitate safe and affordable housing options, improve the quality of our built and natural environments, champion the design of our civic spaces and facilities, and ultimately protect and enhance the health and wellness of our community members.

 

The Department engages with stakeholders across its programs to glean meaningful input in the execution of its mission. The Department works closely with the Lancaster City Alliance to implement the Building on Strength Economic Development Plan first adopted in 2015. It also actively engages with other agencies, community organizations and neighborhood associations promoting the equity, prosperity, and sustainable development of the City.

 

The Department also staffs and guides many City Boards, Authorities, and Commissions, including the Lancaster Property Reinvestment Board, the Redevelopment Authority of the City of Lancaster, the Lancaster City Land Bank Authority, the Planning Commission, the Zoning Hearing Board, the Historical Commission, and several other bodies that help to manage change and shape growth in the City.

General Contact Info

Address

120 N. Duke St.
Lancaster, PA 17602

 

Office hours

Monday – Friday
8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.

 

Phone

(717) 291-4759

 

Fax

(717) 291-4772

 

 

Upcoming Events

There are currently no upcoming events.

Who We Are
Latest News
Who We Are
Christopher Delfs
Director of CPED
cdelfs@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Rebecca Geiser
Deputy Director, Health, Housing and Community Development
rgeiser@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Denice Lazo
Staff Assistant/Department Coordinator
dlazo@cityoflancasterpa.gov
James Nixon
Bureau Chief
jnixon@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Douglas Smith
Chief Planner
dsmith@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Kim Wissler
Bureau Chief/Health Officer
kwissler@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Tyresa Bailey
Health Clerk
tbailey@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Alissa Calhoun
Assistant Welcome Center Manager
acalhoun@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Adam Coleman
Residential Code Official
acoleman@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Emma Hamme
Senior Planner
emhamme@cityoflancasterpa.gov
David Hamric
Commercial Code Official
dhamric@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Cheila Huettner
Welcome Center Manager
chuettner@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Kevin Kauffman
Health Officer/Lead Risk Assessor
kkauffman@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Mandali Kejjo
City Planner
mkejjo@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Molly Kirchoff
Program Manager, Public Art & Urban Design
mkirchoff@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Sonia Lebron
Health and Housing Social Services Case Manager
slebron@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Terri Michael
Building/Plumbing/Zoning Clerk
tmichael@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Lori Parson
Building/Plumbing/Zoning Clerk
lparson@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Tom Paul
Commercial Code Official
tpaul@cityoflancasterpa.gov
DJ Ramsay
Communications Manager
dramsay@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Suzanne Stallings
Historic Preservation Specialist
sstallin@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Jameel Thrash
Zoning Officer
jathrash@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Maggie Warner
Permit Coordinator
mawarner@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Isabel Wong
Health Officer
iwong@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Kate Wright
Special Events & Programs Manager
kawright@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Patricia Wright-Sherman
Administrative Assistant
pwrightsherman@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Latest News
Artist Call: Exhibit at Amtrak Train Station in 2023 Department of Community Planning & Economic Development Public Art Program
The City of Lancaster’s Office of Public Art invites artists to create site-specific work to be ex…
City of Lancaster closed for Election Day Bureau of Operations Department of Public Works LOOP Mayor’s Office Solid Waste & Recycling Program
The City of Lancaster will be closed for Election Day on Tuesday, November 8.
City of Lancaster spotlights “Lead-Safe Lancaster” Initiative During Lead Poisoning Prevention Week Department of Community Planning & Economic Development
In recognition of
Delegation from Lancaster Selected to Join Housing Solutions Workshop Department of Community Planning & Economic Development
Local officials announced today that Lancaster was selected to participate in the Housing Solutions …
Hispanic Heritage Month Festival LOOP
In celebration of Hispanic Heritage Month, the City of Lancaster will host a public celebration on O…
Residents Deliberate Lancaster City’s Future at Forum hosted by Franklin & Marshall College Bureau of Planning Department of Community Planning & Economic Development Land Development & City Design Division
In July, the City of Lancaster’s comprehensive plan team partnered with Franklin &…