What We Do

The Department of Community Planning and Economic Development (CPED) is comprised of two major divisions of three bureaus each, which work together to build strong neighborhoods and elevate quality of life for all people who live, work, and play in the City of Lancaster. The Department manages a range of programs that aim to support business and job creation, facilitate safe and affordable housing options, improve the quality of our built and natural environments, champion the design of our civic spaces and facilities, and ultimately protect and enhance the health and wellness of our community members.

 

The Department engages with stakeholders across its programs to glean meaningful input in the execution of its mission. The Department works closely with the Lancaster City Alliance to implement the Building on Strength Economic Development Plan first adopted in 2015. It also actively engages with other agencies, community organizations and neighborhood associations promoting the equity, prosperity, and sustainable development of the City.

 

The Department also staffs and guides many City Boards, Authorities, and Commissions, including the Lancaster Property Reinvestment Board, the Redevelopment Authority of the City of Lancaster, the Lancaster City Land Bank Authority, the Planning Commission, the Zoning Hearing Board, the Historical Commission, and several other bodies that help to manage change and shape growth in the City.

General Contact Info

Address

120 N. Duke St.
Lancaster, PA 17602

 

Office hours

Monday – Friday
8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.

 

Phone

(717) 291-4759

 

Fax

(717) 291-4772

 

 

Upcoming Events

There are currently no upcoming events.

Who We Are
Latest News
Who We Are
Christopher Delfs
Director of CPED
cdelfs@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Rebecca Geiser
Deputy Director, Health, Housing and Community Development
rgeiser@cityoflancasterpa.gov
James Nixon
Bureau Chief
jnixon@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Douglas Smith
Chief Planner
dsmith@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Kim Wissler
Bureau Chief/Health Officer
kwissler@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Julia Althouse
Permit Clerk
jualthouse@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Tyresa Bailey
Health Clerk
tbailey@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Forrest Black
Lead Risk Assessor
flblack@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Zaritzia Burgos
Housing Billing Clerk
zburgos@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Adam Coleman
Residential Code Official
acoleman@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Robert Cruz
Housing Inspector
rocruz@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Kyle Davidson
Building Safety & Compliance Officer
kdavidson@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Eric Delgado
Housing Inspector
edelgado@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Elaine Esch Lapp
Lead Program Manager
eesch@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Carl Everhart
Residential Code Official
caeverhart@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Jack Fowler
Staff Assistant
jfowler@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Thomas Gilbertson
Senior Planner
tgilbertson@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Landis Gochnauer
Housing Clerk
lagochnauer@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Maria Guzman-Castillo
Housing Clerk
mguzman@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Vicki Hainsey
Housing Clerk
hainseyv@cityoflancasterpa.gov
David Hamric
Commercial Code Official
dhamric@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Chaz Harmes
Housing Inspector
charmes@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Crystalyn Hawkes
Lead Clerk II
chawkes@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Randy King
Housing Supervisor
rking@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Molly Kirchoff
Program Manager, Public Art & Urban Design
mkirchoff@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Sonia Lebron
Health and Housing Social Services Case Manager
slebron@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Denice Madonna
Redevelopment Administrator
dmadonna@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Brynn McGowan
Community Development Administrator
bmcgowan@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Juan Montes
Health Officer
jmontes@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Raphael Montosa
Residential Building Official
rmontosa@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Wilfredo Perez
Housing Inspector
wperez@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Elyse Poy
Program Administrator
epoy@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Isaiah Reichenbach
Housing Inspector
ireichenbach@cityoflancasterpa.gov
DaJour Rucker
Housing Inspector
drucker@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Edwin Santiago
Housing Inspector
esantiago@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Daniel Sosa
Lead Program Coordinator
dsosa@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Suzanne Stallings
Historic Preservation Specialist
sstallin@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Michelle Szurok
Housing Admin Assistant
mszurok@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Jameel Thrash
Zoning Officer
jathrash@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Brooke Wagner
Health Officer
brwagner@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Brian Wagner
Housing Inspector
bwagner@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Maggie Warner
Permit Services Supervisor
mawarner@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Keyana Williams
Permit Clerk
kwilliams@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Isabel Wong
Health Officer
iwong@cityoflancasterpa.gov
Latest News
City of Lancaster Invites Community Organizations to Participate in Letter of Interest Process for 2024 City-Directed Funding Opportunities Administrative Services Department of Community Planning & Economic Development
The City of Lancaster is launching a Letter of Interest (LOI) process for its anticipated 2024 fundi…
City of Lancaster Launches Lancaster City Welcome Initiative Department of Neighborhood Engagement LOOP
Today, the City of Lancaster Department of Neighborhood Engagement, announced the launch of the much…
Food Hub, LCHRA enter agreement to provide 80 emergency shelter beds for the winter Health, Housing & Community Development Division
The City of Lancaster, Lancaster County Food Hub, Lancaster County Housing & Redevelopment Autho…
Statement Regarding City New Year’s Eve Event LOOP
Following a careful review of the City of Lancaster Office of Promotion’s event offerings, we have m…
City of Lancaster Announces Intent to Submit 2023 Pathways to Removing Obstacles to Housing (PRO Housing) Application Department of Community Planning & Economic Development
The City of Lancaster, PA intends to apply for PRO Housing funding from the Department of Housing an…
Call for Artists: Lancaster Amtrak Station Department of Community Planning & Economic Development Public Art Program
The City of Lancaster Office of Public Art has issued a call for artists to participate in…